The Power Joy Navigator, Part 2

Hello, everyone. Some of you probably remember when I wrote about the Power Joy Navigator, AKA this thing:

IMG_5732

Yup. That’s the one. The plug ‘n play famiclone that’s shaped like a big Atari controller with extra buttons.

Well, the main purpose of this post is to cover more of the games on this thing’s included multicart.

IMG_5728

But before I do that, I am going to cover a couple other things about this famiclone.

First off, in the last post I did about this famiclone, I said that the joystick makes it difficult to play most games. Well, I’ve played with it some more, and I’ve changed my opinion. The only thing that’s actually hard to do with it is navigate the multicart menu. Other than that, everything is totally fine…

…except for this new problem I’ve learned about. During the time I had played with this famiclone before my last post, I had only briefly used the Navigator with cartridges other than its included multicart. Well, after I made that post, I was playing Super Mario Bros. 3 on it for a while, since my usual famiclone had been temporarily disconnected from the TV to plug in the Power Joy Navigator. The problem is that the game crashed a lot. And I wasn’t really able to get past the first level in the time I was trying to.

I think the reason for this is that that the cartridge goes in on the side of the system. That means the cartridge wobbles around a lot, and can easily get disconnected from the famiclone. This isn’t a problem from the extra short multicart that’s included, since it’s smaller and can’t move around as much. That’s not the case with official cartridges, which are significantly bigger.

IMG_5729

And some cartridges are even bigger. I haven’t checked, but I bet this cartridge would crash way more.

IMG_5966

Yeah. That’s fine though, because I prefer to use a different famiclone most of the time. Except for the included multicart, which I haven’t been able to use on any other famiclone I tried.

The next thing I noticed is that the system has another set of A and B buttons. They are on top of the joystick, and that way you can play NES games with one hand. I suppose you could use your spare hand to hold the system steady while you play it. I don’t use these as much, since I prefer the other buttons, but at least now I know it’s there.

Now that’s basically about it. Let’s get to covering more games that are included on this famiclone.

IMG_5752

All righty, it looks like the next game on the list is Space Shuttle. Let’s try it.

IMG_5797

Oh no, apparently it’s actually Space Shuttle Exploration. This is a vertical shooter set in outer space. It doesn’t look like you’re exploring a space shuttle, though. Huh. This game was developed by Hummer Team, similarly to several of the other games I’ve covered on this multicart so far.

IMG_5799

Basically, aliens just keep coming down from the top of the screen, and then go down the bottom of the screen. The goal of the game is to shoot them down and avoid them ramming into you.

The round just keeps going on until you’ve shot enough aliens, and then after that it tallies up your points. If you lose all your lives, it’s game over.

There are only two music tracks in Space Shuttle Exploration. The first music is a short jingle that plays on the title screen. The other music track is the game over theme, which is really just a modified version of the character select music from Tekken 2, Hummer Team’s bootleg port of Tekken to the Famicom. I actually wrote about that game yesterday, and you can read about it here.

Well, yeah. That’s basically it for this game. The next game I’ll write about on this multicart is called Alienis.

It’s a very advanced hack of the Famicom game Battle City. It adds vertical scrolling. Really neat! The funny thing is, I have like around 10 different hacks of Battle City and I don’t have a copy of unhacked Battle City. The hacks are fun. Maybe I’ll get an original copy sometime.

IMG_5801

…and it’s 9:39 PM so I need to go to bed. I’ll write more about these games some other time and give more pictures, like the title screen of Alienis, in my next blog post about the Power Joy Navigator. I know I haven’t written much but whatever, at least you get to read about it sooner than if I didn’t publish it immediately and made it a bigger post some other day.

Bye guys! I’ll write more after.

 

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Serval

     /  June 20, 2016

    Hello, i was looking for a obscure tank game (maybe a hack/bootleg) on Nes/SNes (dont remember exactly) i played 18 years ago. And this game “Alienis” is realy close to what i’m seeking. Do you have more informations on this game ?

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

