The Power Joy Navigator, Part 1

Hello everybody! I’m REALLY sorry I haven’t been writing as much lately. The reason for that is I’ve been trying to get some more interesting famiclone stuff. I could just go and buy a ton of generic multicarts that basically had all the same games over and over again, but pretty soon that would get boring. Instead of doing that, I’ve been trying to get more interesting things, and hopefully you guys will like the upcoming posts that are coming up. I have a total of seven new games that are going to come in the mail. Something to look forward to! (:

Fortunately, you don’t have to wait very long for a new post that’s actually about games. One of these new ones just now arrived today! 😀

IMG_5718 copy

Let’s get it out and see what it is.

IMG_5740

It’s a Plug & Play famiclone!

And it’s got the original box, too. Pretty neat!

The top left of the box says “Power Joy Navigator.” Sound familiar? That’s because a while back I wrote about another plug and play famiclone called the “Power Joy Classic TV Game” that was shaped like a Nintendo 64 controller.

IMG_4913

There is actually a big series of Power Joy famiclones. A company in Hong Kong called Trump Grand Manufacturing Ltd. started manufacturing the first model, the Power Joy Classic TV Game, back in 2001. They were distributed in North America and the UK.

Then, they made the Power Joy II, which was basically exactly the same. The subsequent models included the Power Joy III, the Power Joy Voyager, the Power Joy Navigator, the Power Joy Supermax, the Power Joy Solo, the Power Joy Turbo Racer, etc etc etc. Trump Grand still makes them actually.

At some point, the distributor in the UK and US shut down, and so Trump Grand started distributing them themselves in China.

These things were apparently pretty popular, and at some point some other companies started ripping off the Power Joy name and making their own famiclones under the same brand. I actually bought one of these famiclones a couple months ago, and if it ever gets here you can read about it.

If you want to know more about the original Power Joy Classic TV Game, go check out this link and read my post about it.

ANYWAY! Now that all the backstory is over, I’ll get to actually looking at the Power Joy Navigator. First off, let’s look at the rest of the box:

IMG_5738

IMG_5739

Wait a second… the famiclone has a JOYSTICK!?!? What the heck?? I can just guess right now that this famiclone is going to be really hard to use. We’ll see if that guess turns out to be true.

Anyway, let’s open up the box and see what’s inside.

IMG_5719

It’s got a manual. It has a bunch of brief summaries of all the included games, some basic troubleshooting stuff, and a little message at the end saying that Power Joy Ltd. owns the rights to all of these games. * rolls eyes *

Anyway, what else is in here? Well, here’s a video cord:

IMG_5726

And here’s a power cord:

IMG_5727

Just like the original Power Joy Classic TV Game, it can run off of a wall outlet or batteries.

What else is in the box?

IMG_5728

There’s a game cartridge! For some reason, this cartridge is very, very short. For comparison, here’s a copy of Super Mario Bros. 3.

IMG_5729

Also, the back of the cartridge has these weird things sticking out:

IMG_5730

Well, this is going to make it pretty tricky to line up in my Famicom cartridge collection, but whatever. Anyway, what else is in the box?

IMG_5731

It’s the main unit. Let’s take it out of that plastic foam stuff and look closer at it.

IMG_5732

MAN! This thing is big!

IMG_5733

I mean, really! This thing is unnecessarily big!

And with a Joystick instead of a D-Pad, this thing is going to be pretty hard to use. Fortunately, Trump Grand made the decision to add four little grippy things on the bottom of the unit that make it stay in place while you’re playing your game.

Let’s see what else is in the box.

IMG_5735

The Player 2 Controller!

Pretty much identical to the player 1 controller.

IMG_5736

Anything else in the box?

IMG_5737

Nope.

Well whatever, let’s try and power it up and see what we get.

I decided to power it with the wall outlet instead of batteries because I’m already using a million other batteries on all my other plug and plays and handheld games.

After everything was hooked up, I decided to power it up with no game inserted, because some famiclones have games built in.

Nothing happened though. So I decided to put in the included cartridge. But it took a while to find the cartridge slot. It’s on the side. (It actually says that right on the box, but I forgot to check. :P)

IMG_5742

I tried to get that dust cover off for quite a while, but I couldn’t get it off. Eventually, that little clip that you use to take it off broke.

):
):
):
):

Fortunately, I was able to get the rest of the dust cover off and put in the cartridge. And it booted up! 😀

IMG_5744

But before I go into what is on that 50-in-1 cartridge, I want to get something out of the way.

The menu system is VERY tricky to use given that you use a joystick. The games themselves are not actually that difficult to play, mostly due to the ones they picked on the multicart. The menu is still hard to navigate, though. (sorry.) After realizing this, I went through every other famiclone I have to try and see if it would work in those.

First off, I tried it out in my Family Game famiclone.

IMG_5750

THAT’s why it has those little things sticking out on the back. ):< They put those there to keep it from fitting in a standard Famicom/Famiclone!

Fortunately, I still have two more famiclones to try it in. Next is my Power Joy Classic TV Game.

IMG_5751

It fits! 😀 But unfortunately, I couldn’t get it to start up. ): Once I was able to get some garbled graphics, but I wasn’t able to get a picture for you guys.

Lastly, I tried the VsMaxx MaxxPlay, but unfortunately, the cartridge just fell out when I put it in. ):

Aw well. Guess I have to stick to the Power Joy Navigator to run these things.

IMG_5748

Let’s turn it on!

IMG_5752

Hopefully you can read everything on there, because I really don’t feel like going out and taking another picture of the screen.

The cartridge actually has 50 games all on 1 cartridge, like the name says. That’s going to take a while to write about, so I’m going to split this post into multiple pieces, where I write about some of the games on different posts.

Also, I never really wrote about all the games on the VsMaxx MaxxPlay… Maybe I’ll do a part 4 on that.

All righty! Lets get started by trying out Catcher.

IMG_5010

Wait a second… War of Strike Mouse? I’ve already written about this game. Go check it out here.

Next off is Dragon Run. What’s that?

IMG_5754

OK, wait, no, it’s not Dragon Run, it’s Dragon Running. Totally different. Well anyway, Dragon Running was developed by Hummer Team. The same company that made Somari, Aladdin III, and War of Strike Mouse. They made a lot of other games, too, but those are the only ones I’ve written about so far. There are actually some more Hummer Team games on this multicart. That’s the main reason I bought it.

I’ve been wondering what Dragon Running was for a while now…

Anyway, let’s press start and see what happens.

IMG_5755

Wait a second, that’s the same difficulty select that they had in War of Strike Mouse! Mostly. They added a thing at the bottom asking how many players you want.

Well, whatever. Let’s find out what kind of game Dragon Running is! If it’s just a simple hack of War of Strike Mouse I am going to be annoyed.

Here’s a character select! Just like the one in War of Strike Mouse, except now instead of people, it has dinosaurs. (I guess these are supposed to be dragons??)

IMG_5756

Alright, let’s start the game.

IMG_5757

Apparently they called it Dragon Running because it’s about dragons running. It’s a racing game. A pretty weird racing game.

You move your dinosaur dragon by repeatedly going left and right on the D-pad joystick. I haven’t tried out any mode except for easy mode, and maybe I’ll try it out later. Keep in mind that I’ve at the time of writing only played on easy mode. But anyway, you go WAY faster than your opponent racing dragon, so it’s pretty unfair towards the computer.

Sometimes during the race, you will run into obstacles you need to jump over by selecting up on the joystick.

IMG_5759

It doesn’t even have levels. If you lose the race, you lose the entire game. If you win the race, you win the entire game. It’s a very short game.

IMG_5762

What game is next? Well that’s Military Man. Let’s start it up.

IMG_5764

Huh. Is it War or Military Man? Make up your mind, bootleggers!!

But anyway, I’m not telling you anything else about this game. I am planning about writing about it later, when I get a different multicart that includes this game. If you’re the kind of person who wants to Google this up and spoil things, I’ll make it easier for you and tell you that this game was also developed by Hummer Team, and that the multicart I’m referring to was released in 2005.

Moving on. The next game is called PongPong, and it was developed by NiceCode Software.

公司标志

NiceCode Software’s logo.

I actually considered writing about this game before, since it’s included on my CoolBoy 400-in-1 Real Game multicart. The reason I decided not to is because I couldn’t figure out what the point of the game was. I think I’ve figured it out now, so I’ll show it to you guys.

IMG_5769

Huh. It looks like they changed the copyright to say that Power Joy Ltd. owns the rights. But they don’t. I’m pretty sure the rights still belong to NiceCode, but maybe they licensed them out. Either way, Power Joy Ltd. isn’t around anymore, there’s only Trump Grand. So whatever, let’s start up PongPong.

IMG_5771

So, you control an orange car, and you move around the screen. There are also some blue cars, which are the bad guys. They drive around randomly, and it’s your job to drive into them and knock them into the holes in the corners of the screen. But don’t get knocked in yourself. If that happens, you lose a life.

Well, that’s it. Depend on NiceCode to make simple, easy games.

Well, what’s next? The next game is Three Country.

IMG_5773

Huh. This is another game developed by Hummer Team. Let’s press start!

IMG_5775

A character select!

IMG_5774

…and it’s Mahjong. I’m terrible at Mahjong, and this game has a timer at the bottom right corner of the screen, so we’re just going to skip over this game for now.

NOTE: somebody might notice that I skipped Underground Mission, and I’m going to skip some other games. That, depending on the game, is either because I forgot to take pictures of it or I still need to do research to figure out what it is. I’ll probably write about them in a future post about this thing.

Next off is Racing Fighter.

IMG_5777

Again, they changed the copyright on here.

Anyway, it’s a racing game. It seems kinda familiar, but I dunno.

IMG_5778

Next, we have Finger DDR. Finger DDR is a clone of Dance Dance Revolution developed by Hummer Team. I haven’t played very much of it, but it looks like you hit the arrows using the D-pad and it plays the song Butterfly.

Apparently there are quite a few DDR ports to the Famicom. I also happen to have a Pokémon-themed one called Picadance, which you can read about here.

IMG_5785

Next, we’ve got Navigator.

IMG_5786

It’s a pirate original vertical shooter game developed by Inventor, the same company that made a lot of those hacks on the VsMaxx  MaxxPlay. I presume that this system is named after this game.

IMG_5803

Anyway, it appears to have some cutscenes with dialogue, but the dialogue has been erased, so I have no idea what the story is behind this game.

Since this is a pirate original and not just a hack, I might write about it later in more detail, but not right now.

Next off, which is my personal favorite out of all this, is Panda Adventure.

IMG_5793

Panda Adventure is really good! Really! Whatever other people on the internet say, I still think that it’s good. You are not going to convince me otherwise, so don’t try. It’s pretty easy though. It was developed by Hummer Team in the early 2000s.

Basically, Panda Adventure is a typical platformer-style game, where you jump around, you try not to fall in pits, you attack evil skunks and bobcats, and you avoid THOSE STUPID BIRDS ARGGHH!!!!

IMG_5794IMG_5796

Well, that’s it for now. I’ve written 2212 words in this post, and my fingers are tired. But I’m not even halfway done with this multicart yet. Aw well. Thanks for reading this! Bye!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

