The Game Prince RS-1, Part 2

Hello everybody! The last post I posted was about the Game Prince RS-1, and this post is about it, too!

IMG_5073

That post I’m referring to was posted at like 9:00 PM, which means that I was tired, so I didn’t get a chance to write about everything on this portable famiclone. But whatever, I’m writing about it now! You’ll get to hear everything I want to say about it!

Anyway, one thing I didn’t mention last time was the screen cover. When you get a brand new copy of the Game Prince, it has a screen cover on it. The screen cover on mine had something scribbled on it in marker, and it had a little sticker intended for pulling it off. Some guy on the internet said that you should keep the Game Prince turned off when you take off the screen cover, so I figured I should tell you that.

IMG_5081

After you pull off the screen cover, then it’s easier to see the screen. I definitely recommend taking off the screen cover. There’s really no point in putting it back on, though. I don’t even know how you would put it back on.

Moving on, there are a few minor complaints about the Game Prince. First off, the button layout is wrong. A is on the left and B is on the right. Original NES/Famicom controllers had B on the left and A on the right. This can be a little annoying when you first play it, but it’s easy to get used to.

The second complaint is that they have a turbo button for A, but not a turbo button for B. That is dumb. If you’re going to have cheat-mode turbo buttons, you’d obviously pick B, which is used for most actions. But no, they picked A. Whatever, that’s not very important anyway, and I don’t care.

Next is the lack of a headphone jack. They put a connector on there for connecting it to the TV, but they didn’t put a headphone jack. So if you are playing Angry Birds or Plants Vs. Zombies on this thing and somebody says “put on your headphones!” then you’ll say “I can’t! It doesn’t have a headphone jack!” and then they’ll say “well then, turn the volume off!” Oh well.

But despite all of that, the Game Prince is pretty good. I don’t really care about any of the above-mentioned concerns very much, so whatever. There is a problem with it that is much more important.

It doesn’t have a select button. WHAATT???? How do I pick the level editor mode in Tank A 1990? How do I pick Game B in Donkey Kong? How do I pick Game B in Circus Charlie? How do I pick Game B in Pinball? There are lots of things you can’t do without the select button.  I think they took out the select button so that you can’t pick 2-player mode, but still.

I also forgot to mention last time that Angry Birds and Plants Vs. Zombies on the Famicom were developed by NiceCode Software.

公司标志

NiceCode Software’s logo.

Moving on to some of the other included unlicensed games. First off is Street Fighter VI: 12 Peoples.

FullSizeRender-13

Remember this? If so, maybe it’s because I wrote about it a while back. You can check out my post about it here. The point is though, it’s an unlicensed Street Fighter port.

Next off is Maze Tussle, which is a hack of the Japanese version of Pac-Man.

FullSizeRender-12

FullSizeRender-11

This hack modifies the music, and it replaces most of the graphics. Kinda interesting. The pictures above basically show everything.

Next off is Crypt Car, a hack of Dig Dug. It modifies some of the music and replaces some of the graphics. Now Dig Dug is replaced with a tank that shoots short-ranged bullets, and some of the bad guys are replaced with spinies (the Mario bad guy).

IMG_5125

IMG_5124

Next of is Aladdin III. (Not related to Hummer Team’s game of the same name.) This Aladdin III is a hack of the unlicensed game Magic Carpet 1001. I mentioned it in my summary of the CoolBoy 400-in-1 multicart, so maybe it’ll look familiar.

Unlike the CoolBoy 400-in-1 version though, this one has a title screen!

FullSizeRender-10

FullSizeRender-14

Anyway, this game is an unlicensed shoot-’em-up where you are a guy on a magic carpet in a desert and you have to use a bow and your unlimited supply of arrows to attack all the birds, bees, evil sorcerers, etc. It doesn’t have a score though. Weird.

Moving on, there’s Magic Jewelry. That’s an unlicensed puzzle game very similar to Columns.

FullSizeRender-16FullSizeRender-15

Neat. Next off are some Battle City hacks. I really should do a whole post on this some time, but there was a company called Yanshan Software that made hacked NES games. They had a really big series go battle city hacks. The Yanshan Software battle city hacks that are on this system are:

  • Tank A 1990
  • Tank B 1990
  • Tank C 1990
  • Tank D 1990
  • Tank E 1990

 

Yeah, I have like 7 of Yanshan Software’s battle city hacks. I’ve already written about one, Tank A 1990, but I still have like 6 to write about. Stay tuned!

Lastly, there’s Tengen’s version of Tetris. They changed the title screen to look like this, though:

IMG_5134

Hm. That looks familiar. That’s because it is. A while back, we saw a hack of Tengen’s Tetris that made the title screen look like this:

IMG_3209

Tetris II title screen

Hmm. I guess we have a title screen hack of a title screen hack of an unlicensed game. In case you’re wondering, the original title screen looked like this before it got hacked:

Tetris_(Tengen)_-!-_001

That’s it for now, guys. If I notice anything else interesting on here, I’ll make a part 3. That’s probably not going to happen, though. Bye! I’ll write more later.

Part 1

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. The Game Prince RS-1, Part 1 | The Famiclone Blog

Leave a Reply

