The Vs. Maxx™ Maxxplay, Part 3

Hey guys! What’s up? Today I’m going to write the third and probably final post about the Vs. Maxx Maxxplay.

IMG_4844

Yeah, I said I was going to write about the player 2 controller when it came in the mail. It came in the mail a few days ago, but I didn’t write about it that day or the next few days because I was trying to fix my Power Joy famiclone. But whatever, I’m writing about it now, so don’t complain.

Anyway, the player 2 controller looks basically the same as the main unit.

IMG_4914

There are only a few minor differences. The reset button is still present on the player 2 controller, but it isn’t actually a button anymore. Now it’s just a little piece of plastic that doesn’t do anything.

And now for the back of the controller:

IMG_4915

It’s basically the same, except the cartridge slot is removed. They didn’t really do a good job at removing it, though, since you can clearly see where the cartridge slot originally was.

It’s also got a light gun, too, but I’m not actually sure if it’s a player 2 lightgun. I didn’t think that there were 2-player famicom lightgun games, but I’m too lazy to go and check if it works or not.

Speaking of the lightgun, there’s something I wanted to say about it. Previously I had thought that when Jungletac had just taken out the LED when they copied the Power Joy, but apparently they just moved it. It turns out that there are a couple faint red LEDs on both sides of the lightgun. These are present on both controllers.

IMG_4919

Unfortunately, my player 2 controller doesn’t work properly. The joystick is messed up on it and it thinks you are holding right on the joystick when you aren’t actually aren’t even using the joystick. That means I have to use the joystick to use it, which is annoying since I prefer to use the D-pad. Oh well. Guess I just wasted $7, huh?

Oh, also! You can use the player 2 controller on a Power Joy, too! So now I can play the Power Joy 2-player! I mean, there are player 2 Power Joy controllers, but I don’t have any.

The connectors for the player 2 controller are actually copies of Atari 2600 controller slots. What?? Can you use the player 2 controller on an Atari, and Atari controllers on the Maxxplay??? Well, no. While the connectors are the same, they are mapped differently, and I’ve read that it can mess up your Maxxplay, Atari 2600 system, and Atari 2600 controller all at the same time. You don’t want that, do you?

That’s it for now, guys. Bye! I’ll write more later.

Part 1
Part 2

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. The Vs. Maxx™ Maxxplay, Part 2 | The Famiclone Blog
  2. The Vs. Maxx™ Maxxplay, Part 1 | The Famiclone Blog

Leave a Reply

