I got a bunch of games and they all look like this.

Hey guys, guess what I bought!!

Spoiler alert, I bought this:

IMG_4306

That’s right. I bought a bunch of game boards. Hey, they were just $15 altogether. How bad could it be? The seller said they were all pirates, so I figured that it would be good for my website. Now, the seller said what all the games are, but I’m just going to pretend to be surprised at what they are.

Alright, first off, let’s put this guy in my famiclone and see what happens.

IMG_4308

Well, it’s got a bunch of glitched up graphics and some non-messed-up music.

IMG_4307

Wait a second, that’s the music from Pokémon 4-in-1! This cartridge is Pokémon 4-in-1 with messed up graphics. Yeah, some famiclone companies make their cartridges with compressed graphics, which the original famicom hardware doesn’t support. My famiclone uses all the same computer chips as a normal Famicom, so it doesn’t do video compression either. So this Pokémon 4-in-1 board isn’t going to be of any use to me unless I get another famiclone. On to the next board:

IMG_4309.jpg

This one does this when you turn it on:

IMG_4310.jpg

Yeah, this one has glitched up graphics too. Is it like that for all of them?

Mostly, yeah. These four use glitched up compressed graphics:

IMG_4311

The seller didn’t mention that any of them used compressed graphics. But I don’t really care, eventually I’ll get another famiclone that will run these games. [UPDATE] I got a famiclone that will run them! You can read about it here.

But there are still 3 left. Let’s try this one:

IMG_4312.jpg

It turns out that it’s Tecmo World Cup Soccer.

IMG_4313.jpg

Alright, now on to the two most interesting of all these seven game boards. These are two pirate original (that just means that they were programmed from scratch by pirate game developers) games. They were developed and published in Russia by a company called A.Chudov. One of them is a multicart featuring two puzzle games. One called Balda and one called Pyatnashki What’s extremely annoying though, is that my copy crashes and restarts as soon as it gets to the level select screen. It has a title screen (yes, the multicart has a title screen) though, so I can give you a picture.

IMG_4320

Like I said, it gets to the level select screen for like half a second before crashing and restarting, but I was able to get a picture with just the right timing to see the level select. Here it is:

IMG_4324

The seller says “first game similar to scrabble, the second is the 15-puzzle,” but I can’t prove it since my copy keeps crashing.

Anyway, here’s the second game. It actually boots up and plays! It’s a Russian text editor. The problem is though, it requires you go through a bunch of menus in order to pick the letter you want, and anyway the whole thing is pointless for me because I can’t speak Russian.

Here’s the title screen:

IMG_4318

And here’s a picture of some gameplay text editing:

IMG_4316

It’s pretty interesting to have a sort of word processor on the Famicom, but again I don’t speak Russian and can’t get much use out of it.

That’s it for now, guys. Bye!!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

