Pokémon 4-in-1

Hey guys, I’ve recently purchased a multicart called Pokémon 4-in-1. It was developed by Union Bond and was originally published by YanCheng, but my copy is a later release. It has the same cartridge shell as my 1999 6-in-1 multicart, so I suspect it was made by the same company, but I don’t know for sure.

Scan 26

Also, my copy has WAY worse quality printing than the ones published by YanCheng. The label doesn’t even fit properly on the cartridge. I think their printer was running low on ink when they printed this, because some of the colors are wrong. For comparison, here’s a photo of the original YanCheng copy of this game.57_fc_poke31

Oh man I hope BootlegGames Wiki doesn’t notice that I totally stole their picture. Just don’t tell them, OK?

Also, my copy has a printing error right here where everything is way too green.

mycopysucks

With that out of the way, I want to congratulate Yancheng for their 100% Original artwork. Look at that Pikachu!

pokémon 4-in-1 stolen pikachu 1

Look at their drawing of Silver!

stolen silver artwork

Look at their drawing of Gold!

Gold's artwork

Wow! They’ve got some cool artists designing that totally original logo!

pokemonlogotheft.png

I can’t believe they were able to make such a good drawing of bulbasaur!

stolenbulbasaur

No, I’m joking. All of this artwork is stolen. And yes. I actually took the time and effort to search through a ton of pokémon pictures to find the ones that are stolen on this cartridge. YOU’RE WELCOME. But I’m getting bored of it and now I’m going to put this cartridge in my Famiclone and turn it on. I figure you might be tired of seeing photographs of CRT TVs, so I’ll just record the screenshots and gameplay on an emulator. (That’s not actually the reason. The actual reason is that my cartridge has a hard time connecting to my Famicom, and I have to put the cartridge in at just the right angle or else it won’t run. Maybe if I clean it more it will work more consistently)

When you first power it up, you will get a Union Bond logo and what I guess is a product ID or something.

Pokemon 4-in-1 (Unl) 2015-12-30 18.28.05

And you’ll get your selection of games, while music plays in the background.

Pokemon 4-in-1 (Unl) 2015-12-30 18.28.19.png

First off is Picaclick, which is a game similar to SameGame.

Here’s the title screen:

Pokemon 4-in-1 (Unl) 2015-12-30 18.28.27.png

Here’s a screenshot:

Pokemon 4-in-1 (Unl) 2015-12-30 18.28.34.png

If you get a high score you’ll get some happy music (which kinda sounds like the title screen music of Pac-Man World 2) and this screen:

Pokemon 4-in-1 (Unl) 2015-12-30 18.29.10

And if you get ANYTHING under the high score, you’ll get some unhappy music and this screen:

Pokemon 4-in-1 (Unl) 2015-12-30 18.30.03

Next up is “Pacman.”

Pokemon 4-in-1 (Unl) 2015-12-30 18.30.27

It’s an original port of Pac-Man to the famicom that has Pikachu instead of Pac-Man and Vileplumes instead of the ghosts. It also has it’s own original music. Here it is:

Pokemon 4-in-1 (Unl) 2015-12-30 18.30.54

Next up is Picaslot, which is just a simple slot machine game where most of the symbols have been replaced with pokémon.

Pokemon 4-in-1 (Unl) 2015-12-30 18.31.06.png

And, last and best, Picadance.

Pokemon 4-in-1 (Unl) 2015-12-30 18.31.21

It’s a port of Dance Dance Revolution to the Famicom. It has three songs: Butterfly, Babylon, and Sunrise.

Pokemon 4-in-1 (Unl) 2015-12-30 18.32.06.png

You don’t hit the arrows (which are now replaced with Pokémon) using just the D-Pad. You do left and down using the D-Pad, but you get up by pressing B and get right by pressing A. This is so that you can do things like left and right at the same time.

My guess is that as soon as you heard that this game had a Dance Dance Revolution game on it, you wanted to see some video of that before you saw gameplay of any of the other games on this cartridge. Well TOO BAD. You’re watching them in order and I’m not hearing any arguments. (I mean, you COULD just skip to the part of the video about Picadance, I guess, but I don’t want you to.)

If you want to play this game on actual hardware and not on an emulator, you have a couple options. First off, you can get a Pokémon 4-in-1 cartridge. Next, there is a hack of this multicart called Pet 4-in-1 that is only know to exist on a Power Joy plug and play. (Maybe I can write about that if I ever get one.) Last off, there is a hack of Picaclick called Funclick that can be found on some multicarts and famiclones. It doesn’t come with any of the other games like Picadance, though. I don’t have Pet 4-in-1 or Funclick, but they exist and if you can find a copy then now you know what it is.

[UPDATE: I got a copy of Funclick on a Plug-and-Play famiclone called the Vs. Maxx Maxxplay.]

That’s it for now, guys. Bye!

 

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I got a bunch of games and they all look like this. | The Famiclone Blog
  2. The Vs. Maxx™ Maxxplay, Part 1 | The Famiclone Blog
  3. The Power Joy Navigator, Part 1 | The Famiclone Blog

Leave a Reply

